The picturesque site of Montfaucon has existed since the neolithic era. An area
called "Hannibal's Pass" reminds us that the famous Carthaginian general
crossed the Rhône near the present-day village. Built in the 11th century
on the rock of St. Maur, the feudal fortified castle once provided a means to
survey river traffic and to collect tolls.
Partially destroyed in the 16th century for a reason that remains unknown, the
castle was restored and enlarged in the last century by Baron Louis de Montfaucon.
In memory of his mother, Agatha Clavering, he gave a Scottish look to the castle,
whose triangular shape is unique in France.
Since 1913, the castle has been registered on the list of historical monuments.
||Bar/tobacco shop, hair salon, butcher shop, bakery/pastry
shop, grocery, general store, service station, 2 garages, castle grounds.
||Wine storehouse of the castle (16th century)
Church dating from 1841
Chapel of St. Maur, reconstructed in the 19th century
Romanesque chapel of St. Martin (10th century)