Gard Provence





La Bastide d'Engras

Gard Provence  home page Gard Provence  home page
Search:
Towns and villages
 Discover the regions of Gard Provencal ::
  TAVE RIVER VALLEY ::
La Bastide d'Engras
Between Ceze and Ardeche rivers In the Cotes du Rhone Cevennes foothills Across the bridge from Avignon Near the Pont du Gard Around Uzes Tave river valley
 Click to visit town,
 village or monument :: Oppidum Saint Vincent Pougnadoresse La Brugiere Fontareches Saint Laurent la Vernede La Bastide d'Engras Le Pin Cavillargues Verfeuil Saint Marcel de Careiret Saint Andre d'Olerargues Vallabrix Saint Quentin la Poterie La Capelle et Masmolene
 
La Bastide d'Engras
La Bastide d'Engras
Population :: 192
Village   
festival ::
1st weekend of July
Town hall :: 04 66 72 81 45
   
La Bastide d'Engras 
Between the Cèze and the Gardon, the village of La Bastide overlooks the northern part of the Tave from the top of a sandstone ridge; it has been occupied by many different populations since prehistoric times.
 
This small community, which consists of a mere 180 residents, is one of the most ancient fortified towns in France.
 
The village, which was once surrounded by high ramparts, developed into two communities that face the Veyre Valley. Because of its location near Uzès, France's premier dukedom, it attracts a large number of foreigners, including many who have established a second residence here. The village's tourism industry has developed side by side with its agricultural production, which has been vital to its existence for thousands of years.
 
This charming village has been able to maintain its old-fashioned charm; it is part of the true French heartland, which unites modernity and tradition.
 
shops Organic bakery
Renovation/construction company
Association "Les Amis de Solan"
Organic products and wine
Post office
history The seigneury belonged to the counts of Toulouse until 1209 and was part of the bishop of Uzès' estate until 1565. It was then granted to the La Fare family, and in 1746 it was sold to the Thomas family, who owned it until 1954.