Gard Provence





aigaliers

Gard Provence  home page Gard Provence  home page
Search:
Towns and villages
 Discover the regions of Gard Provencal ::
  AROUND UZES ::
Blauzac
Between Ceze and Ardeche rivers In the Cotes du Rhone Cevennes foothills Across the bridge from Avignon Near the Pont du Gard Around Uzes Tave river valley
 Click to visit town,
 village or monument :: Arpaillargues et Aureillac Blauzac Collias Uzes Argilliers Sanilhac et Sagries Sanilhac et Sagries Saint Maximin Saint Siffret Saint Hippolyte de Montaigu Saint Victor des Oules Vallabrix Saint Quentin la Poterie Montaren et Saint Mediers Aigaliers
 
 Aigaliers dans
 les autres rubriques ::

Blauzac

Blauzac
Blauzac
Population :: 782
Village   
festival ::
The weekend of July 14
Town hall :: 04 66 22 17 95
   
 
After crossing an ocean of garrigue, making a steep descent among savage lands towards the gorges of the Gardon and the robustly majestic Bridge of Saint Nicolas, the visitor heading from Nîmes to Uzès will reach a landscape that stretches out towards the ducal towers, which are visible far in the distance. If he looks towards the left, he will see a small village that nestles on top of a hill, and whose silhouette stands out against the azure sky. That is Blauzac, a village with many architectural treasures to discover: its church's bell tower, the ruins of its old castle, and its impressive medieval buildings.
 
Blauzac is a special place, with the architecture of its old town, its shops, the constant activity created by its associations, its renovated town buildings, and its young, enterprising population.
 
shops 1 grocery store, 1 bakery, 1 hairdresser, 1 café-restaurant-tobacco shop-newsstand, 1 café.
heritage Church, castle, stone buildings from the Middle Ages.
The trail of capitelles (circular stone constructions) in the Massif de la Librote
Drystone constructions
history Blauzac overlooks the gorges of the Gardon, which have been a transportation route and a dwelling place since prehistoric times. Ceramic artefacts prove the existence of a prehistoric settlement here. The presence of a Celtic oppidum is evidence of more recent human habitation.
 
In 1147, the name of the village of Blaudacum appears in regard to the second crusade, and then the "castrum" of Blauzach is mentioned in 1156. Members of the Brotherhood of the Saint-Esprit established themselves in Blauzac between 1225 et 1250 to construct the Bridge of Saint Nicolas, which is still in use today.
 
In 1353, the seigneury of Blauzac was inherited by Pierre de Deaux. Bertrand de Deaux became cardinal and papal legate of Pope John XXII.
 
In 1569, the Protestant leader Jean de Saint-Chamand took control of Blauzac. After having produced two prelates to the Catholic church, Blauzac began turning out passionate defenders of the reformed church: Raoul and Jacques Guérin, famous Camisards, as well as Ravanel, born in Malaïgue, who became lieutenant to Jean Cavalier, the sworn enemy of the royal dragoons.
 
From 1300 to 1789, the consuls of Blauzac presented countless petitions to the king concerning an exemption from taxes dating from 1362. This exemption had been granted to the town to compensate it for the 250 gold ducats it had provided to pay for the ransom of King Jean II.
 
Blauzac later became an agricultural community whose population reached nearly 900 inhabitants in 1846, only to fall into decline for over a century.
 
This trend has clearly reversed in the last few years.
local
products
Wine, melons, asparagus, grains (wheat, sunflower), olives